Your Analytics are Better Than Theirs

Measure and review your analytics for optimal success. Above Promotions Company. Tampa, FL 2013. Photo courtesy of www.cryptgraphics.com.

Measure and review your analytics for optimal success. Above Promotions Company. Tampa, FL 2013. Photo courtesy of http://www.cryptgraphics.com.

 

It’s funny how some of life’s lessons from child and adulthood can speak volumes to your business. Today’s blog is a good example of such.

Do you remember when you were a kid and someone would end the conversation with “mines is better than yours”? A statement that in most arenas had no weight to it. Well most adults wouldn’t venture to use this phrase now, but there is one area I’d like to see us all take on this seemingly immature stance. It’s in the area of analytics. Follow me for a second while I provide a good place for you as an adult to use this elementary school phrase.

There are many studies reflective of the human habits when it comes to marketing, especially for email open rates and social media engagement. For example, Mashable posted an article last year called, “The Best and Worst Times to Share on Facebook, Twitter“. Well like many marketers, we heeded to and attempted to follow the times suggested for each social media platform. As I believe that good sound research can reveal a lot to us, I also believe that you have to be cognizant that not all data applies to every situation. As we know, one-size-marketing does not fit all.

Along the way, I have tested many theories in regards to these data points released. Through my own research for clients and for Above Promotions Company, I have realized that yes, some of those times listed that are not optimal are probably right. But it has been shown to me that some of the other times listed as optimal were not for the demographic I was targeting. For example, on our company page, I have noticed that on certain days of the week we received the most views or comments on Facebook from 11 am to 1 pm. If I had not monitored and experimented on my own while looking at my analytics, I would have missed the opportunity to discover a good time to share business information. So although I love the research provided and will continue to keep up and monitor any additional data shared, I will also continue to rely on what my analytics say and give that even more weight.

So there! My analytics are better than theirs! As Charlie Sheen would say, “Winning!” Of course, I’m making light of the topic. Doubt I would really say that to any research company, but you get the point. Overall, I would like to challenge each of you to only take researched analytics as a starting place and not a end-all guide to running your own marketing campaigns.

What do you think? Are your analytics better than theirs?

Please leave your thoughts and comments below. They may be used in the future for another article.

***************

Above Promotions is a full service publicity, marketing and promotions company, founded with the purpose to serve an array of clients that are looking to expand their presence in the marketplace. From a local to international market, Above Promotions Company can provide the exposure that goes above your expectations. Visit http://www.abovepromotions.com today.

********************

Ebony T. Grimsley is the Creative Director and Owner of Above Promotions Company. She is also the recent author of “Because You’re Small: Effective Marketing Strategies for Immediate Implementation.” To find out more information on the book, please visit http://www.abovepromotions.com or purchase online at Amazon, Booktango and other online bookstores.

 

Comments
5 Responses to “Your Analytics are Better Than Theirs”
  1. A+++ for this one Ebony! I was a sheep when I first started out but had to take a step back as I learned about the world of social media and sharing.

    Mine is Better than Theirs! I don’t have to prove it to the world, I will let me sharing do it for me.

    Statistics are only as good as the group who compiled the information, what size and type businesses they included in their study, social media bias and so many other factors.

    That’s not to say statistics and analytics aren’t worthwhile and important but they should only be used as a gauge not a exact template…..and only if you’re business size is the same as the ones included in the study! The old “apples to oranges” saying comes to mind.

    As always, thanks for such great articles!

    Brenda Ellison
    MyInfoSnap

  2. Great comment! Thanks for reading and providing excellent feedback.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] Your Analytics are Better Than Theirs (abovepromotions.wordpress.com) [...]

  2. [...] Your Analytics are Better Than Theirs (abovepromotions.wordpress.com) [...]

  3. [...] Your Analytics are Better Than Theirs (abovepromotions.wordpress.com) [...]



Join the Discussion. Leave a Reply. Your comments just may appear in a future post!

  • Need an eStore on Your WordPress Site? Click Here!

    WordPress Shopping Cart
