I Wanted to Quit After Creating These 4 Tips on “Why Not to Quit Writing a Blog for Your Business”

Why does writing a business blog or any blog make you want to run in the opposite direction? Above Promotions Company. Tampa, FL 2014

Why does writing a business blog or any blog make you want to run in the opposite direction? Above Promotions Company. Tampa, FL 2014

WordPress reminded me last week that I was at 199 posts for the Above Promotions Company blog. I chuckled because WordPress couldn’t possibly give me a total of all of the ones written for clients as a service to them nor the guest posts I’ve completed for other online outlets. Nonetheless, I recognize I’ve been blessed to share thousands of words with complete strangers, clients and associates in the industry and not completely be ridiculed off of the internet.

A couple of guest bloggers helped me to hit the 200 posts mark so could I really break open a bottle of green juice over this number? Either way this seemed to be a milestone and you should celebrate and reflect when you reach those, right? So last week, I drafted notes for the auspicious, at least in my mind, occasion.

I had a title of “Tips from Lessons Learned from Over 200 blog posts” or “Why Not to Quit Writing a Blog for Your Business.” While in my mind the tips I noted, which are listed below are good ones, I found myself not wanting to even write a post on this topic. This of course made me take a look over my tips again, and I suppose they are good ones since they were what motivated me to press on to complete today’s topic.

So under this new title, please know these tips can motivate you as well.

  1. Don’t stop writing when readership numbers dips or increases. If the number of readers decline, keep writing as the articles live on (at least until someone deletes them). Many times I was shocked to not see people run to a timely subject matter, yet weeks later see a spike in it. Also, the dip gives you a chance to hone your own voice and direction of the blog. And when your readership numbers increase, rejoice but know that you have not arrived. So do not slow down as those viewers will be anxious to see new content from you.
  2. Prepare yourself for possible questions and comments. Every industry has a topic which is controversial to it. In all reality you want to spark some emotion in your readers. This is why it is best to think about how your message could be interpreted and what responses you should, not the ones you really want to, give. Make sure your response remains factual, respectful and contains less emotion than what was communicated in their comment. This is the publicist side of me you will want to thank later when it happens to you or comes back up again.
  3. Create an editorial calendar that’s amendable. When you organize and list your ideas you are able to really draft more effective blog posts. On top of that, you’re able to line up your posts with your promotions schedule, holidays or national days, and you’re able to never lose that brilliant post idea you want to save for a later date. Creating a list of posts and then assigning when you want to complete and post them helps you to stay on course with updating your business’ blog regularly. However, for the breaking related industry news and the rebellious side of you that just wants to write about what you want to write about (i.e. me today), be flexible with your calendar.
  4. Engage with the readers of the blog off of your blog. Take a moment to follow them on Twitter. Visit their blog. Comment on posts you find interesting or well-written. Yes, we know this is all about being social, but don’t forget that you’re looking for leads. If someone positively engages with you, be sure to do the same. You never know who you will find hanging out with them if even if the commenter isn’t a potential customer.

There are so many reasons not to quit. When you remember these tips and others like, “5 Ways to Keep Visitors on Your Website Longer” and using keywords, a responsive site, social sharing, guest blogging and syndicating your blog, you’ll find blogging for your business to be second nature. On some weeks you just won’t be able to stop yourself from wanting to share your content. Either way, know that as long as your business is operational, you should keep your blog going as well.

Oh, wait! I forgot to say the reason I wanted to quit. It wasn’t that I wanted to quit writing altogether, I just wanted to quit the topic for this week. I had some other content I wanted to share instead of this topic. Would you have known if it was the 200th post this week or next week? Probably not. However, after re-reading tip number 3 above, I backed off of the other topic and decided to be amendable and still stay true to the number WordPress is counting.

What do you think of these tips? Do you have any others to add?

Leave your comments below. They may be used for future posts.

*******************

Above Promotions is a full service publicity, digital marketing and promotions company, founded with the purpose to serve an array of clients that are looking to expand their presence in the marketplace. From a local to international market, Above Promotions Company can provide the exposure that goes above your expectations. Visit http://www.abovepromotions.com today.

********************

Ebony T. Grimsley is the Creative Director and Owner of Above Promotions Company. She is also the author of “Because You’re Small: Effective Marketing Strategies for Immediate Implementation” which is sold on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and other stores and a contributor to various media outlets.

